Three More Public Meetings for the Ashbridges Bay Maintenance and Storage Facility – Comments Accepted until August 6, 2010

Mitigation Information Meeting

With City Council approval of the Ashbridges Bay Maintenance and Storage Facility, the project is now undergoing the Transit Project Assessment (TPA) Process to determine its environmental impacts.

The new facility will store 100 of the new TTC cars and will open in 2013. The plan also includes a non-revenue track on Leslie Street between Queen and Commissioner Streets.

As part of the TPA Process, TTC is holding a public meeting that will address impacts and mitigation measures for the removal of contaminated soil, noise and vibration levels, traffic associated with this project and other issues.

Meeting Details Date: Wednesday July 28, 2010, Time: 6:30pm – 9:00pm, Location: Toronto EMS and Fire Academy (895 Eastern Avenue)

If you can’t make the meeting, you can still provide comments on the projects until August 6, 2010. See the attached flyer for more information.

Landscape Design Competition

After hearing from the community on May 19th, 2010, three urban design firms have prepared their concepts for Leslie Street, from Commissioners Street to Lakeshore Blvd, around the perimeter of the planned TTC Facility.

Their panel displays will be available for public review and feedback at two outdoor events. Each firm will be on hand to explain their concepts and answer questions about their designs. Their submissions are also available on-line.

First Meeting

Sunday, August 8, 2010 – 11:00 am – 4:00 pm at the South East corner of Leslie and Lakeshore

Second Meeting

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 – 4:00 pm – 8:00 pm at Ashbridges Bay Park (South East Corner of Coxwell and Lakeshore)

Public Comments will be received until August 23, 2010. Please see the attached flyer for more details on the events.

For more information, contact: Lito Romano, Community Liaison OfficerStrategic Partnerships -Transit CityToronto Transit Commission416-397-8699

Posted On: July 29, 2010